Embrace the Shadows Welcomes Charmaine Gordon

Today I’m kicking off  “New Author Thursday.” This  mini-feature will offer guest blogs from paranormal authors  all through September and October.  During this time, I’ll introduce you to a handful of new authors in the paranormal romance genre. Many of the writers blogging with us will be new-to-me as well — so over the next few weeks, we can all sit back and discover some great books to add to our TBR (to be read) piles. 😉

Our author today is Charmaine Gordon, from Vanilla Heart Publishing. Welcome Charmaine!

~~~~~~

After a bunch of years as an actor on daytime drama, commercials, movies including Working Girl singing Happy Birthday to Melanie Griffith, I reached Off Broadway in a wonderful play, The Fourth Commandment. Toward the end of the run, I had an idea for a story. Kissing the sweet time good bye, I began a new career as a writer.

Good fortune smiled upon me when Vanilla Heart Publishing offered contracts for “TO BE CONTINUED” and “STARTING OVER” two romance/ survive&thrive books and my most recent book, “NOW WHAT?” a paranormal romance/suspense.

So, how do I come up with my stories? I sleep-write. An idea comes in the night. When the sun rises, I write.

“NOW WHAT?” began with a scene so personal, that it was never meant to be told, but it took charge as I cried, laughed and typed.

Because this is out of my comfort zone, I’m going to introduce Carly Evans. Yes, Carly is a fictional character, the protagonist of NOW WHAT? but she comes alive in the story.

EXCERPT:

It was 2:30 a.m. when the phone rang. I fumbled for it, my heart starting a race toward bad news.

Our doctor’s voice urged me to hurry. I crammed into clothes as if I expected this call.
It is only a fever that won’t go down, isn’t it?


Our doctor shook his head. “. . .Carly, I’m so sorry.”

He lay on the hospital bed where I’d kissed him goodbye not so many hours before. I’d said, “See you tomorrow.” My husband of thirty years replied with words I hadn’t heard in a long time. “I love you.” Not since the heart attack two years before when he began listening to his heart beat  and forgot about me. Maybe we both sensed the crossroads ahead, the impending doom.

Settling in beside my Bob, I held his cooling hand and asked the two words spoken many times during our years together. “Now what?” This time there was no response.  I was on my own for the first time.

When my fingers touched his wedding ring, I slipped it off and held it in my fist. The gold band was warm.

“Come back to me, dearest.”


The first contact Bob made was with our dogs at the edge of the woods bordering our property. My heart soared. I knew he’d return for me. I’d made a quilt from Bob’s shirts and draped it around my shoulders. Bob’s Old Spice clung to the fabric. A shimmer beckoned to me and I ran to the aura of silvery white, purple, yellow as I was enfolded, caressed and loved to fulfillment and then it ended. I knew he’d return. The dogs scampered to my side and guided me home.

What this meant, I didn’t have a clue. Bob’s true purpose would be revealed as I struggled through the hurdles of making a new life.

~~~~~

Thanks for stopping by, Charmaine! If you want to learn more about this new author, follow any of these links:

http://www.vanillaheartbooksandauthors.com/Charmaine_Gordon/html

http://AuthorCharmaineGordon.com

http://www.vanillaheartbooksandauthors.com/PassionHeartsAnthology/html

AMAZON B&N OMNILIT PDF

KINDLE SMASHWORDS MULTIFORMAT

Comments
6 Responses to “Embrace the Shadows Welcomes Charmaine Gordon”
  1. Great excerpt, Charmaine. Sounds like a terrific read!

  2. Grace Conley says:

    Charmaine–
    I loved the excerpt — how heart-wrenching! I look forward to reading it! 🙂

  3. very intriguing excerpt really grabs at the heart, very powerful. Looking forward to reading it.

  4. Wonderful! So happy to have you as our guest today:)

    • Thanks for the lovely welcome, Barbara. My other books are romance/suspense. This story is different. Without vampires, werewolves and alternate worlds, I wasn’t sure “NOW WHAT?” was paranormal. The more I wrote, the more I knew it was. I appreciate this opportunity to talk about my book and meet new friends.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

