The Joy of Writing

So I’ve seen lots blogs about the work of writing over the last couple years.  And it is a lot of work.  There are rewrites, queries, synapses, contracts, clauses, edits, and promo.  And let’s not forget about the waiting.  But I’ve been missing the blogs about the joys of writing.  Yes, there are the joys of finishing a piece.  And the joys of being offered a contract.  But I don’t remember many on the joys of actually writing.  I’m sure they’re out there.  I just haven’t been seeing them.  I also haven’t been feeling the joys of writing lately.

I’m not saying the two are connected, but for the past couple months I’ve been feeling more of the business of writing.  I have to get my word counts done.  Have to get my stuff revised.  Make sure the sentences are balanced (I tend to start sentences with dependent clauses—it’s my weakness).  Make sure I have all the motivations there and that the story follows a logical progression.

Part of it is because Nikki and Isaac (my H&H in my current WIP) are very complex characters.  They require a lot of focus and detail in writing.  Part of it is because I’ve been dragging my feet on writing this story and I’m feeling a little guilty about that.

But that’s not what this blog is about.

The weirdest thing happened to me the other day.  I was writing, and I had to switch POV to secondary characters for a couple of chapters.  That’s not the weird thing.  Anyway, while writing these characters I fell in love with them.  I didn’t want to stop even after I’d gotten my word count for the day.  The characters were amazing together.  They shouldn’t be.  I wasn’t planning on them ending up together.  They were just secondary characters that filled in part of the story.  But while writing their bit I wasn’t hyper critical.  I was just in the moment, writing a scene.  And it was in that moment it all clicked.  And I remembered why I write.

Sometimes I get lost in the business of writing and forget why I do it day after day.  I get wrapped up in the negativity (and there is a lot of negativity out there).  But in the end, I do it because I love it.  When you get a character right, or nail a scene, it makes all the other stuff worth it.  And I needed that reminder right about now.

Comments
2 Responses to “The Joy of Writing”
  1. I had to take a big step back from the business side. I love love love the writing. Creating stories, creating characters, making great worlds. It’s all awesome. Trying to market and make a big splash, that was all stressful, and detracting from the fun.

  2. I absolutely, hands down do my best “work” when I forget that it’s work. When I forget everything but the story and why I want to tell it and I just dive in. I’m also finding my way on the business side to a point where I do what doesn’t interfere with the writing. It takes some hit and miss to discover what feeds and what drains.

    I’ve learned to run away from the drain!

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

