Happily Ever After

The night I met my husband he had just been attacked by a vampire assassin. The assassin didn’t kill him, he just knocked him out for a bit, and because we were members of the same vampire clan I was dragged into a room to help deal with the mess. My memories of what went on are fuzzy, but I do remember the moment when he woke up, because when he opened his eyes I paused and thought “whoa, this guy has gorgeous eyes.” He really does. That was thirteen years ago, and today is our fourth wedding anniversary. (The picture is us dancing at our wedding.) 🙂

We were LARPing when we met, in case you’re wondering (that’s Live Action Role Playing, as opposed to online or table-top role playing, which typically involves computer or dice instead of wandering around dressed like your character). I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m a gamer. As a writer I love telling stories, and as a gamer I get to create stories with other players. I’ve met many amazing people through gaming, and had many adventures. But any gamer knows that there are no guarantees that your character will live to see the end of the adventure. You might get fried by a dragon, jumped by thugs, or pincushioned by arrows. One bad roll of the dice and you’re finished.

This is why I love romance novels. I know that with a romance novel, I’m guaranteed a happily ever after. I don’t have to worry that the hero might be inexplicably killed in a car accident or fried by a dragon. No matter the ups and downs of the story, everything works out in the end. It’s comforting. It gives the reader a sense of security that isn’t found with other genres. And if I may borrow a little post-Thanksgiving vibe, I’m thankful for that.

I’m also thankful for my husband, who supports both my writing and my gaming. Happy Anniversary, Sweetie.

Comments
2 Responses to “Happily Ever After”
  1. Love, love, love that pic:) And I also love how you met. Imagination rocks!

  2. Happy anniversary!

    It especially makes me smile, because I met my husband LARPing too.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

