Baby It’s Cold Outside

I baked a lot of cookies this weekend. It’s a tradition that started when I was young. At first I helped my mother bake cookies to give as Christmas gifts, then I slowly took charge of the baking, and now my relatives won’t let me through the door on Christmas Eve unless I show up with plates for everyone. I have a few more varieties I need to bake yet, but it was a good start.

It was a perfect weekend to be inside baking, because outside it was cold, windy and snowing. When I was done baking for the day I indulged in another tradition, and I curled up with a warm blanket and a good book. I don’t read as often as I used to, because I tend not to read when I’m writing, but I’m getting a head start on my New Year’s resolution and taking the time to read more. Getting lost in a story is a good way to escape the cold winter nights, and I’ve always found it a good escape in general.

I needed an escape, because I was nervously awaiting an email from my editor about my historical paranormal story “The Importance of Being Emily.” As I started baking I set my cell phone next to the bowl of oatmeal cookie dough, and I glanced at it constantly. After a filling a few baking sheets with globs of dough I noticed the green light blinking, informing me I had new email, and I forced myself to finish what I was doing before checking it. It was my editor, and she loved the story and offered me a contract for it. I squealed and danced around the kitchen for a bit, and then went back to scooping cookie dough with slightly shaking hands.

It may have been cold outside, but after that my day was filled with warmth and smiles. And cookies. Lots and lots of cookies. 😉

Comments
9 Responses to “Baby It’s Cold Outside”
  1. Suzanne Rock says:

    Congrats on the new contract Robyn!!! That’s fantastic news. I love historicals so I can’t wait to read it. 🙂

  2. chandraryan says:

    Yay!! I’m so happy for you.

  3. Congrats on the new contract! I made a ton of cookies this weekend too but mine didn’t quite end the way yours did. I got a rejection 🙂 lol

  4. Susan says:

    That is such awesome news! Congrats!!

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Congrats on the contract!

  6. Congratulations, Robyn! And, oh my goodness, that’s a lot of cookies!!:D

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

