A Writer in the Family

No one is prouder of my first novel than my mother. When I visited my family for the holidays, I kept finding pictures of my book cover around the house, like discovering hidden Mickeys at Disney World. As I’ve mentioned before on my blog, I’m the bookworm in a family of athletes, and being published is like finally having my own shiny championship trophy. I’ll admit, I may have even listed to “We Are The Champions” a few times in the car after signing my contract for The Importance of Being Emily.

I’m thankful for my mom’s enthusiasm, but it’s a strange thing to have my work out there and to hear my family’s reaction to it. This Christmas was my first big family gathering since Blood, Smoke and Mirrors came out. Some of them love it. Others…not so much. I’ve had my share of good and bad reviews. I had to stop reading reviews of my book on Goodreads, because ouch. The drama! But I can take them with a grain of salt, because those reviewers are strangers from the mysterious ether of the intarwebs. Hearing criticism from my own family is another matter entirely.

So now I’m curious. How does your family react to your writing? Or, if you’re a reader, what does your family think of what you read?

Comments
5 Responses to “A Writer in the Family”
  1. How wonderful your mother is here to encourage you. I often wonder what my mother would have said about my writing. I dabbled in writing when I was younger and she was still alive, but I never submitted anything. Back then we didn’t have the internet and research was more difficult, especially with a family to raise. My brothers and sisters read one of my books. My brother keeps asking when my next one is coming out. I’ve had two released since that first one, but they were ebooks. He keeps asking when I’m going to write a real book.
    Unfortunately, there are still a lot of people who think ebooks aren’t real, they want that print book in their hand. I know that’s changing, but even within my own chiildren they would rather hold that book in thier hands. Congratulations on your success and your family’s support. Don’t worry if some don’t like your books, we can’t please everyone. That’s why there are so many different genres.

    • rbachar says:

      Oh, the dreaded “real book.” My brother hasn’t read it yet because he’s waiting for it to come out in print, which will be in March. Ebook attitudes are changing though. I think that once e-readers come down a little more in price we’ll see more of them out there, and more love for ebooks.

  2. Susan Blexrud says:

    Robyn, I think you should be enormously proud of all the hype generated by Blood, Smoke & Mirrors. You’ve attracted attention all over the internet (and from some of the TOP sites), and that’s got to have helped sales. Your book is SO distinctive that some reviewers just can’t think out of the box, but when you get a C+ from Sarah Wendell, that’s like an A+ from anyone else. You’re heading for the big time, lady.

    • rbachar says:

      Aww, thank you! 🙂

      I can’t complain about my C+, because I’m still starstruck from meeting Sarah Wendell. I promise not to stalk her if she’s at any of the conferences I’m attending this year. Much. 😉

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

