Fangtastic Friday Likes PIE!

I’m a devotee of Joel Stein’s “The Awesome Column” in Time Magazine, and his January 10 tome is particularly stellar.  He talks about trends for the New Year, and I am so there.  First, there’s pie, which follows a healthy(?) run of several years by another sugar-laden confection, cupcakes.   Which got me thinking how pie could usurp cupcakes in the wedding arena.  Like me, you probably attended a wedding over the past several years that featured the optical illusion cake.  Upon first entering the banquet hall, you got a long view of what appeared to be a multi-layered wedding cake, with a mosaic of tiers in various frosting colors.  Closer inspection (kind of like walking up to Seurat’s “Sunday at the Park with George” in the Chicago Art Museum, except in reverse…oh, never mind…), you found that the “cake” was actually a mountain of carefully-placed cupcakes.  Clever.  Not only did the cupcake mountain require less labor to serve, but it afforded guests a beaucoup of options.  And if one cupcake wasn’t enough, you could always swipe another.  How will they do that with PIE?  As far as I can tell, it’s  not stackable.

And then Mr. Stein gets into fashion.  He consulted the creative director of Elle, Joe Zee, to learn that trends are veering back to the Belgian invasion of the 1990s, which Mr. Stein says he missed the first time.  Me, too.  When Mr. Stein pressed Mr. Zee for specifics, the Elle creative director would NOT predict that women will dress much, much sluttier.   Hey, all I know is that I’m seeing a slew of belted sweater sets, which is fine by me.  I’m resurrecting all my skinny belts for an onslaught.  Cute look.  If I keep my knees covered, I think I can still pull this off. 

In other news (according to Joel Stein), pimento cheese will be big and “rabbit is having a moment.”  Khloe Kardasian Odom will get pregnant with twins.  Historians will begin “using sophisticated quantitative methods to show how language and ideas change over time.”  Mr. Stein supposes this means that they’ll start using computers.  The drug of choice for teens will be OxyContin because “56% of teens believe that prescription drugs are easier to get than illicit drugs.”  Scares the heck out of me.  My children are now 20 and 23, so I think I’m out of the woods.  Thank you, God!

For this old writer, I’ll keep plugging out the stories in 2011.  Even those days when the only thing that keeps me going is my critique group, it’s still worth the effort.  And it’s not like there aren’t perks, like last November when I met the cover models at my publisher’s retreat.  That’s me in the middle of the hottie sandwich.

What’s on your slate for 2011?  Any predictions?

Comments
11 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday Likes PIE!”
  1. I would much rather have pie than cake. As for predictions, none as yet. My crystal ball is at the cleaners.

  2. Double yikes–I put a quotation mark before and after the period! No more posts for me.

    • Susan Blexrud says:

      I’m proud of you for figuring out how to post, Jeanne, and your QVC prediction was worth any number of grammatical errors.

  3. I predict the Japanese will finish their hunt for clean mammoth DNA, and will make a baby mammoth. But that’s just because I think mad science is cool.

  4. Mary Everett says:

    It was nice meeting you in Nashville . Please keep the books coming ,I love them.
    I love pie too but I don’t think we will see pictures of celebrities and their children
    walking down the street eating them. They wouldn’t look good smeared over a brides
    dress either. I can make cakes and cupcakes and decorate them in whimsical ways
    but I like eating pie best. I hate cake icing.
    I am Jealous woman ! That’s my favorite Cover model with his hand on you .

    • Oh, Mary, it’s so good to hear from you! I hope you’re doing well, and thanks so much for your comments. And I know the Dark Lord of whom you speak. He is such a sweetheart, as are you.

      • Mary Everett says:

        I am puttering along. Not healing as fast as I would have liked. That sweetheart of a cover model CJ is the one that has managed to keep my spirits up . I don’t know what I would have done without him.

Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

