With A Romantic Storyline

funny dog pictures - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
see more dog and puppy pictures

Romance sells. There’s a reason that romance dominates fiction sales: because romance readers are awesome. They’re smart, they’re loyal, and they’re voracious. They also love to party, and many fans and authors will be kicking up their heels at the Romantic Times Booklovers convention in Los Angeles this week. (Not me, but I’m all about going next year when RT comes to Chicago.)(I’m a little jealous.) 😉

A good romantic storyline can draw me into any tale–TV, movies, even video games. But this is where we separate the romance from the romantic storyline. They’re not the same thing. When I first pitched Blood, Smoke and Mirrors, I described it as urban fantasy with a romantic storyline, and though it’s mainly marketed as paranormal romance now, I still feel that it leans more toward the former than the latter. Cat’s story is the main focus of the book, and though her relationship with Lex is part of her character growth, it’s more butt-kicking action than romance. The Importance of Being Emily, on the other hand, is romance. (It’s also adorable, which you’ll find out when it releases in May.) It’s all about the drama of whether or not Emily and Michael will get together, with a murder mystery thrown in.

But if you’re going to call something romantic, I expect, you know, actual romance. As a reader and writer of romance, I have high expectations for a romantic storyline. I demand character growth, relationship development, all that good stuff. There’s a certain video game I’ve been playing lately that, in my humble opinion, doesn’t deliver on its promise of romantic storylines. It comes close, enough so that I’m frustrated that they’re doing it wrong! I had this problem with the first game in the series. So close, yet still flawed. My husband works in the video game industry, so we’re big on gaming around here, and I feel like developers are missing out on bringing more romance fans over to the gamer side. Give me a real romantic storyline and I’ll be forever hooked on your series. I want to play a character that can fight the evil, kick its butt, marry the handsome prince and live happily ever after. I’m not going to settle for anything less.

So who’s with me?

Comments
2 Responses to “With A Romantic Storyline”
  1. Diana says:

    “Hey, we’re going to create this awesome guy for you. He fights for truth and justice and protecting kittens! He will totally love you the most. Oh, and he’s also a terrorist. You don’t mind if you romantic interest blows up a building full of fairly innocent bystanders, right?”

    No, we’re not bitter at all about certain unnamed video games. (Though that hasn’t stopped you from, what, three playthroughs now?)

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

