Fangtastic Friday Finds Fungus

Yes, you read that right.  This post is about fungus.  Let me explain via a bit of history.  I spent the majority of my working life looking for opportunities to plug my clients into current events.  In public relations, dovetailing off hot news stories is the surest way to garner attention.  So, when I read in January 2010 that a deadly fungus was decimating bat populations in the Northeast, I said, “Aha.”  And then I said, “Perchance there’s an opportunity here to bring public awareness to this serious problem…with a little help from my vampires.”

You see, I love bats, and I’m mighty fond of vampires.  The vampires in my stories can morph to bat form, and why wouldn’t they get involved in helping to save bats?  Of course they would.

I began this kernel of an idea with research into white-nose syndrome, the fungus that has now spread from the Northeast into the Mid-Atlantic states and the Southeast, including my state of North Carolina.  White-nose syndrome has killed more than a million bats since it was discovered in a New York cave in February 2006.  To date, nine bat species in 17 states have been documented as carriers of the fungus, which thrives in the cold and humid conditions of caves and mines…where bats hibernate.  The fungus itself is only part of the syndrome.  Bats affected by the fungus awaken more often during hibernation.  If they fly out of the caves, and their typical insect fare is unavailable, they usually starve to death or freeze.  Did I mention that I love bats?

There’s little known about white-nose syndrome and no treatment as yet.  Bat biologists say the epidemic has no end in sight. 

Why should you care about the plight of bats?  They serve a significant role in ecology because they consume millions of insects and they are plant pollinators.  If the white-nose fungus decimates entire populations of bats, humans could be plagued with mosquitoes out the ying yang. 

So, what can YOU do?

1.  Install bat boxes on your property.

2.  Stay out of caves and mines.  (You could carry the fungus on your shoes or clothing.)

3.  Don’t handle sick or dead bats.  (Okay, that one should be a no-brainer.)  If you see one that you think might have white-nose syndrome, e-mail:  whitenosebats@fws.gov.

Now, on to my story.  Here’s the blurb for Black Fang

Someone is deliberately infecting bats with a deadly fungus.  The flying mammals are dying by the thousands, and along with them, a significant number of vampires in bat form have also succumbed.  Enter John and Lauren Wright.  The vampire couple has conquered evil enemies in the past, but the perpetrator behind the bat deaths is more cunning than any they’ve encountered.  Though John initially suspects that werewolves are the culprits, he discovers he is up against a colony of Unseelie faeries.   The intoxicating scent of the faeries has been known to deceive vampires, pitting friend against friend—and wife against husband.

It’s a wild romp through the land of vampires, werewolves, and faeries.  There’s romance, intrigue, mayhem, and some faerie hanky panky sprinkled on top like pepper on a Cobb salad. 

Black Fang is COMING SOON from DCL Publications (www.thedarkcastlelords.com).

I guess you know by now that I like bats.  What do you think about these furry little creatures?

P.S. Click on John Wright’s (aka Julian Fantechi) eyes above for a fun animated banner, deftly produced by the talented Annie Marshall.

Comments
7 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday Finds Fungus”
  1. Heide Katros says:

    That is so good of you to bring the plight of the bats to light, Susan. I love bats, too. Then again I am a person who saved a rat from being run over by a car LOL The poor thing lay stunned in the middle of the road. True, at first I thought it was a squirrel, but I couldn’t bear to have it run over. So I scooped it up and put it into the grass (at my neighbor’s. You didn’t think I was that good, did you. LOL) Anyway, I can live with the idea that a cat or osprey would kill the rat eventually, but I couldn’t leave him on the road. We really need to help wildlife, no matter how small or ugly. They are key to our own survival, You go, Susan!!! and best of luck with your new book.
    Hugs
    Heide

    • You are the champion, Heide. (Remember, I know your squirrel story.) LOL! And I know exactly how you feel about the rat. Keep up the good work for wildlife. You’re the best. XO, Susan

  2. I had never heard about this fungal disease. Thank you for bringing it up. And I love your idea of building bat boxes. I see bats occasionally out here, but I wouldn’t mind having more. We have plenty of insect food around here.

    • Thanks for commenting, Maria. I’m hoping to bring awareness about the plight of bats through my story. They’re amazing animals and often misunderstood. Wish I could send some your way. LOL!

  3. Susan, who would have thought of bats in crisis. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. While I am creeped out by bats, I understand the necessity to save them. You’re a kind and gentle soul for stepping up to help!

    • I suppose it’s all about balance. As mankind continues to destroy the environment, that balance gets more shaky. Yeah, bats are creepy, but I think they’re kind of cute. Thanks for commenting, Jannine.

  4. Interesting blog post….Thank you for posting….

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

