Evil Authors and Angsty Heroes

I love heroes with tortured pasts. Heroes who are bitter, who were burned by a love gone wrong and who are convinced they’ll never love again–because it’s so much fun as a writer to convince them otherwise. This is why I’m addicted to vampire romance, because if a character’s been around for a few centuries there’s so much possibility for painful memories. I’m a mean author, and I believe in making characters work for their happy endings, so I give them lots of traumatic hoops to jump through. ๐Ÿ˜‰

My critique group, which by the way includes the lovely and talented Chandra Ryan, has been reading the draft of Bad Witch, a sequel to Blood, Smoke and Mirrors. So far they like it (yay!), and recently we discussed a chapter where Simon makes an appearance. As I’ve mentioned before in discussing The Importance of Being Emily and Blood, Smoke and Mirrors, Simon is my favorite character. He’s an angsty vampire, complete with a tortured past that so far only I know, and every so often it’s tempting to drop everything and work on his book so that everyone else can know about his history too. Unfortunately his book doesn’t take place until later in the series, so he has to wait. For now…

Like many Harry Potter fans, I saw Part 2 of The Deathly Hallows on Saturday. And like many Severus Snape fans, I cried for him. A lot. I brought extra tissues because I knew I’d lose it during a certain flashback scene, because I sobbed when I read it in the book. Snape was always my favorite, and it killed me that he got a tragic ending. But Snape’s sad end reminded me of one ofย  my personal missions as an author: to leave no angsty wizard behind, because angsty wizards need love too!

I’d better get writing and work on that, but before I do, I want to hear about who is your favorite tortured character? Hero or heroine? Angsty vampire? Cranky werewolf? Melancholy elf? One of my favorites is Zarek, in Dance with the Devil, part of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series. (I love that series. I have a Dark-Hunter tattoo. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) Zarek’s got sooooo much emotional baggage, and watching him work through it is a great read.

Comments
2 Responses to “Evil Authors and Angsty Heroes”
  1. No Way! I have a DH tattoo too! How crazy awesome is that?

    I’d say my fav would have to be Julian though- him and Zarek are definitely my favorites but Julian had to go through the whole, losing his children thing and that just tops it in my book.

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

