Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Jeffe Kennedy

Welcome to Embrace the Shadows, Jeffe.  I love your writing, and I’m fascinated by your background.  Ready for questions?

With a lead-in like that?? Of course!

With a history of studies in neurobiology, religion, and the environment, do you incorporate any of these disciplines in your fiction?

Maybe not obviously so, but yes, all of these disciplines have affected how I see the world. I tend to be a biologist, first and foremost. I like to test what I observe against hypotheses and prove or disprove them – which, if you’re a biology nerd, is way more fun than it sounds. And, as unlikely as it sounds, my study of religion informs a lifelong interest in the unseen, the paranormal. I promise, it all makes sense in the end.

From Wyoming Trucks, True Love, and the Weather Channel, which I’m going to take a leap and assume was memoir, how did you segue into romance and erotica?

 

Ha! I called the collection personal essays, but it did get filed under memoir. What happened was, after Wyoming Trucks came out, I was working on a narrative nonfiction book that no one liked. My editor told me to put it in a drawer for a year and I was at a loss. Then I woke up with a dream that became my romantic fantasy novel, Obsidian, which comes out in June.

It felt like a very natural progression at the time, though it’s funny to see it spelled out this way.

 

Your Jennifer Paris nom de plume is an interesting way to market your more erotic writings.  Do you plan to continue this alternate moniker?

 

I don’t, actually. I would have, because I thought it was interesting to do it that way, too, but Angela James at Carina told me that if I wanted to use Jennifer Paris, I had to create a social media identity for her, too. I’m just way too busy (read: lazy) for that. So I took the easy path and gave up Jennifer Paris.

 

You’ve said you serve as a guinea pig for an acupuncturist-in-training?  How’s that working for you?

 

This is the most brilliant plan I’ve ever come up with. My acupuncturist-in-training is a natural-born healer. He cures my headaches, adjusts my backaches, heads off the colds and flu. Besides, he’s pretty damn sexy. He can practice on me anytime!

 

Where can readers contact you?

 

People can always email me at Jeffe at JeffeKennedy dot com. I’m on Goodreads or find me on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/jeffe.kennedy) and Twitter (@jeffekennedy) or visit my website http://jeffekennedy.com/. Or, heck, come have cocktails on my porch!

 

Thanks so much, Jeffe!

Thank you for hosting me!

Comments
4 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Jeffe Kennedy”
  1. Delighted to be here today!

  2. I will so be over for the cocktails! Always love your writing, fun interview, we should talk acupuncture and headaches someday – always wanted to try it for my migraines. Loved Sapphire!

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

