Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Denise Alicea

Welcome, Denise.  I’m thrilled to have you join us today.  As a fellow DCL Publications author, I kind of know you, but this interview will give me a chance to ask those questions I’ve been dying to know.  Ready?

 You’re what I would consider a technology guru.  How did you learn all the ins and outs of social media?

Most of what I learned was by reading and following others. In this world, you have to ask questions and when I was a young girl, I had a computer break down. From that point on, I taught myself how to fix things from VCRS, to computers, and anything else I can think of. For social networking, I got a degree in Marketing and PR. I’m also getting my MFA in Creative Writing. I’m also looking at various blogs and social media sites as well. I’m constantly looking up things and trying new trends to further understand social marketing.

What have you found to be your best marketing tools?

Be honest and be yourself.  Support the right causes.  No one likes someone to be fake and not support others while supporting yourself. There are some of my favorite sites such as twitter, facebook, mashable, and klout. There are also programs out there that can help with posting such as tweetdeck and tweetadler.

You’ve received some lovely reviews for Consoling Angel.  Can you share a blurb?

Mira did not know what she had in store the day she fell asleep while wanting to escape her current situation. Overcoming the death of someone close and burying herself in school and an internship has kept her somewhat awake and alive. An admiration for the actor James Dean was all that kept the memory of her father alive. If she couldn’t be with her father, she could at least remember what they shared. She always wanted to meet James Dean. Be careful what you wish for. It may just come true.

What’s next on the horizon for Denise Alicea?

Many things. I am doing an anthology for Christmas next year for DCL. I am also going to be doing a poetry book, another short story about fairies in Manhattan. I also have a script I am working on for class that is about a druid princess. So I am quite busy for the next year!

How can readers contact you?

They can contact me via my website at denisealicea.com or on twitter @denisealicea. I look forward to hearing from them always!

Thank you, Susan, for having me on Embrace the Shadows!

Comments
5 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Denise Alicea”
  1. This is such a cute book, I don’t even know how Denise came up with this idea, but it’s absolutely charming. A nice quick read with a satisfying ending. Good luck with it, Denise!

  2. Denise says:

    Thanks, Miriam! I’m a big fan of Dean so I thought to do a short story.

  3. Alexa Bourne says:

    I enjoyed the story as well. Good luck with it, Denise!

  4. Nancy Lee Badger says:

    A wonderful concept AND I Love the cover. Good luck with the release!

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

