Fangtastic Friday Welcomes David Pereda

I’m pleased to welcome a good friend, David Pereda.  I took several writing classes from David, and I can honestly say that Love Fang would not have the conflict, tension, and punch it has without David’s wonderful guidance.

His new romantic thriller, However Long the Night, just debuted, and I’m so happy he included Embrace the Shadows on his blog tour.

Ready for your questions, David?

I’m ready, Susan. Before we begin, I’d like to thank you for having me on your blog today.

The pleasure is mine, David.

Are you an avid reader?  What authors have inspired you?

Yes, I’m an avid reader, although I must admit I don’t read quite as much now as I used to. Nevertheless, I always keep 3-4 books by my bedside that I read simultaneously, depending on my mood.

So many authors have inspired me and influenced my style that I don’t know where to begin. Hemingway, Conrad, Shakespeare, all the Russian writers, especially Dostoyevsky and Chekhov, have been great influences in my writing style and my life. Hemingway taught me how to write with clarity and understatement. Chekhov taught me how to depict reality as a reflection on a mirror; Dostoyevsky taught me how to explore people’s minds. When I was a kid I read everything written by Max Brand and Zane Grey; they instilled in me my love for independence, horses and wide open spaces. I’m a cowboy at heart and love to go horseback riding with my 9-year old daughter Sophia — who loves horses as much as I do — at a friend’s ranch in Marshall.  During recent years, the greatest influence on my writing has been Harlan Coben. Someone once wrote a review of one of my books and called me the Latino Harlan Coben. I believe it was you, Susan. I was very proud of that comparison to Harlan Coben, whom I consider the best thriller writer today.

As for my favorite book, I have always had a soft spot for Hemingway’s first novel, The Sun Also Rises, which I consider one of the best books ever written.

Tell us a bit about However Long the Night.

However Long the Night is a romantic tale with a major dose of suspense, a tense love triangle, buried family secrets, corporate shenanigans and a historical background. It’s part of a trilogy I am writing from the perspectives of three different characters, one of them a woman. This is the second novel in the trilogy and spans 30 years. HLTN begins in the port of Mariel in Cuba in 1980 during the infamous Mariel exodus, continues 25 years later in Miami and ends in the present day.

The main character is a successful award-winning Miami Architect and real estate developer who suddenly finds out that his success has been built on a lie told by his dying father twenty-five years ago that has done serious damage to the lives of people once dear to him. His conundrum is what should he do? So he does the elegant thing to do: he returns to the land he abandoned in search of the woman he left behind and the son he never knew. In the process, he learns an invaluable lesson about love, forgiveness and redemption.

Describe your writing environment and your process.  Are you an early bird or a night owl?

I’m an early bird, Susan. I’m usually up by 5:30 in the morning to exercise. Because I need to take my daughter Sophia to school by 8:00 and I teach at A-B Tech afterwards, I’m unable to write in the morning, except on weekends. Usually, I write in between noon and 3 pm when I go pick up Sophia from school, and at night.

I have an office at home. I write on a laptop surrounded by hundreds of books, family photos, paintings and some of the writing, running and horse-jumping awards I have won.

My daily process is similar to the one Hemingway used. I sit down, review the last thing I wrote, revise it and write some more.

Of course, before I get down to the daily routine, I outline my novel in detail, develop character sheets, determine how many words I’m going to write, etcetera….

Which is more fun, writing or teaching others how to write?

Writing is my passion, so it is – or should be – more fun.  I say should be because often it is a painful process for me, getting that right word, that right sentence, that right paragraph, that right chapter, that right novelr. The reward in writing comes at the end, when the book is finished and you know is good.

On a daily basis, teaching is more rewarding. I love to see my students triumph. It gives me a sense of accomplishment and makes me feel proud that I could help them take one step closer toward achieving their goals in life.

Now, a couple of questions just for fun.

If you could be the butler to a famous person in history, who would it be…and why?

I would never be a butler to anyone. I’m too arrogant for that. But I would love to pal around with Genghis Khan, a man I admire for all the things he accomplished in his life. Persecuted as a child by a minor chieftain who killed his father and wanted to kill him too, he managed to escape, grow into a man, unite all the fragmented and quarreling Mongols into a nation, and leave an empire that lasted 600 years and was only divided again because of the greed of his descendants. Do you know that no one, ever, defeated Genghis Khan and that many of the things he implemented in his life time have been adapted to today, including a code of law, war tactics, etcetera?

Who’s your muse?  Is he or she a constant companion, or do you need to lure him/her into your writing?

Thank God I don’t have problems writing. I don’t have a muse per say. If I do, it’s a silent and invisible muse.

Finally, where can readers buy your books?

If my readers live in Asheville, they can stop by Montford Books, where there’s always a supply of my books. If they prefer to buy online, here’s a list of places, formats and prices:

eBook versions

Eternal Press $6.95 most formats http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615725984

Amazon $6.95 Kindle only http://www.amazon.com/However-Long-the-Night-ebook/dp/B00770C59K/ref=sr_1_1_title_1_kin?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1330627172&sr=1-1

Barnes & Noble $5.56 Nook only http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/however-long-the-night-david-pereda/1108816715

Fictionwise $5.91 ($5.02 to Members, and prices always subject to change). eBook only, multi-format. http://www.fictionwise.com/ebooks/b131831/However-Long-the-Night/David-Pereda/?si=0

Paperback

Amazon $18.99 http://www.amazon.com/However-Long-Night-David-Pereda/dp/1615725997/ref=sr_1_1_title_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1330627172&sr=1-1

Barnes & Noble $14.69 http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/however-long-the-night-david-pereda/1108816715

Comments
5 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday Welcomes David Pereda”
  1. David Pereda says:

    Thank you, my friend Susan, for having me as a guest on your blog for Fantastic Friday. Please let your readers know I’ll be checking in and out all day to answer questions and respond to comments.

  2. So nice to see a friend on Susan’s blog, David, and I’m excited for you. Best of luck with your book and thanks for telling us about it.

  3. denissea says:

    Great book! I’ll have to pick it up!

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    March 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

