Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Ada Adams

Hi Susan, Chandra and Robyn! Thank you for having me on your blog today.

You’re welcomel Ada.  And now…your questions…

1.  Your degrees in psychology and education prepared you well to write YA. Why do you think this genre has become so popular over the past few years?

Growing up is hard to do, but it’s something we all experience. Young adulthood is one of the most turbulent times of our lives, while at the same time being one of the best! Most adults look back at their teen years with great longing. After all, it’s a time when we all feel most alive. Falling in love is mind-blowing, rifts in friendships are earth-shattering—life is exciting! Therefore, it’s not surprising that the genre is so popular with teens and adults alike. I’ve seen a large rise in the YA Paranormal genre, especially. Growing up isn’t easy, but throw in a few paranormal elements and a cute, mysterious boy from another world, and you’ve got a fun, electrifying tale!

2.  Pippi Longstocking was your original inspiration to write (at age five). What other books influenced you? I have to say, you look like a grownup Pippi Longstocking, and I mean that as a compliment.

Thank you! I don’t have her hair color, but I do like to wear my hair in braids. 🙂

Throughout my life, I have been inspired by various books. I don’t have one particular novel that has influenced me more than another, as I’m a diverse reader and love to eat up books! I think my main inspiration comes from my love for literature and the wonderful things that can be created with a little imagination. I love J.K. Rowling and the “Harry Potter” series. I’ve grown up with the series, so those books definitely hold a special place in my heart.

 3.  Will the ReVamped story become a series?

Yes, “ReVamped” is the first book in the “Angel Creek” series. The sequel, “ReAwakened, will be out this summer. Currently, there are three books planned for the series.

4.  I love the book cover for ReVamped. The title is in such interesting script. How did you design that?

Thank you very much. I‘m glad that you like it! I had always wanted the cover to be true to the story—that was one of the most important things for me. I wished to find the perfect balance between an eye-catching cover (and script) and the content of book. I adore pretty covers, but since Dawn is such a strong, independent character who kicks a lot of butt, I didn’t want the cover to be “too pretty”. I told my wonderful graphic artist, Olga Barkhatova, what my vision for the title was, and she provided me with some script samples to choose from. We had a few really girly ones, but we ended up settling on this one because it was unique, while at the same time it hinted at all the action and adventure that occurs in the book. I also decided to switch around the “RE” so that it was facing backwards. It’s a little homage to the misfits, who are kind of “backwards vampires”.

5.  How does inspiration hit you? In the shower? At 2 a.m.? And when you find yourself in an inconvenient place with an idea itching to be recorded, what do you do?

I’m a very extroverted person, but I also enjoy my solitude. My inspiration usually comes during moments of peace and quiet. I do most of my best thinking in the shower or in the middle of the night. Often, I have to jump out of the shower and record the ideas on the voice notes application on my phone! If someone actually went through all my voice notes, I’m pretty sure they would have enough evidence to have me committed!

 6.  Just for fun, if you could have dinner with five people (dead or alive), who would they be…and why?

My aunt made me swear that if I’m ever actually in this situation, I would hook her up! I would have to invite George Clooney, Johnny Depp, Antonio Banderas, Brad Pitt, and her (of course). She probably wouldn’t even let me attend the dinner! It would just be her, the guys, and some romantic lighting/music. I’m a great niece, right?

 7.  Where can readers find your books?

www.revampedbook.com

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007BDZ6X0

Print: http://www.amazon.com/ReVamped-Ada-Adams/dp/1470068982/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1

Kobo, B&N, iBooks as well, but currently there is an ARC version uploaded on these websites. Please check www.revampedbook.com to find out when the good copy is up. I would like all my readers to receive the best quality from “ReVamped”!

Thank you for the interview!

ReVamped Blurb:

Nineteen-year-old vampire Dawn has led a sheltered life within the confines of her father’s presidential headquarters. Upon being sent on a mission to revamp four goofy misfits into guardians of a peaceful little town of Angel Creek, Dawn believes that all her dreams have finally come true. What starts off as a simple task, turns into something unexpected, changing Dawn’s life forever and leading the action-loving, thrill-seeking vampire teen on a path of mystery, danger and intrigue.

When a human girl is kidnapped by a group of rogue vamps, Dawn discovers that there is more going on in Angel Creek than meets the eye. And it all connects to Ethan, the cute newcomer who seems too perfect to be true, Sebastian, the mysterious vampire with a turbulent past, and even Dawn herself. Dawn must not only succeed in revamping the troubled recruits, but must also prevent the vampire race from being overtaken by a malevolent villain who has a strange and obsessive fascination with her. As threat escalates, romance blooms, and ghosts from her past begin to surface, Dawn is sure of only one thing: her life will never be the same.

Leave a comment for Ada, and one random visitor will win a Kindle copy of ReVamped.  Oh, and please leave an e-mail address so we’ll know where to send your prize.

Comments
One Response to “Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Ada Adams”
  1. Ada Adams says:

    Thank you for having me on your blog today. The interview was a lot of fun.
    Best regards,
    Ada

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    April 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

