Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Lisa Kessler

I am so pleased to welcome Lisa Kessler to Embrace the Shadows for Fangtastic Friday.  I’ve been a Facebook friend of Lisa’s forever, and it’s great to see her career skyrocket.  Couldn’t happen to a nicer or more talented gal.

Awww thank you!!!  I’m excited to be on your blog too! J

I know you’re just back from the Romantic Times Convention in Chicago.  Loved those purple shoes!  Tell me, what is it about romance authors and SHOES?

Ha!  I wish I knew, but sometimes the shoes are so cute I’ll buy an outfit to go with the shoes! LOL

I also participated in World Book Night (I gave out The Hunger Games to an LGBTQ youth group in Asheville).  Why did you choose Stephen King’s The Stand as your WBN book?

The Stand is one of my all-time favorite books!!!  For writers, it’s like a toolkit for writing amazing characters, both good and evil.  Every one of them was relatable!  So I chose to give it away.  It was a super fun night!

You’re an opera singer, and I LOVE opera.  What’s your favorite aria?

Gosh I have a lot of them!!! LOL  I think my favorite to sing is La Chiamano Mimi from La Boheme.  I also love Steal Me from The Old Maid and the Thief from Menotti.

I know you met Charlaine Harris recently?  She looks like she’d be so much fun.  Tell me about the experience of rubbing elbows with her.

I’ve actually met her a few times, but my favorite Charlaine story is from a book signing a couple years ago.  My BFF is a True Blood fanatic and staunchly a Vampire Bill lover.  So we went to Mysterious Galaxy Book store and they gave us a post-it to write our name for Charlaine to sign in the book…  My friend wrote “I, Charlaine Harris, promise not to kill Vampire Bill.”

We were in the 300 group, so Charlaine had signed hundreds of books already by the time we approached.  She read my friend’s post-it and started cracking up!  She ended up signing my friend’s book like this…  “I, Charlaine Harris, promise not to kill Vampire Bill… YET!”

She was a kick! J

Night Walker is the first book in your new series with Entangled Publishing.  Did you have the whole series outlined at the outset?  What inspired you to tell this tale?

I do know the story arc for the series, and I’m finishing the final book, Night Child, now.

I got inspired to write Night Walker after a trip to New Orleans.

I visited a palm reader in the French Quarter.  Her reading was spot on, but it wasn’t until I was leaving that she changed my life.

When I got to the door, I turned to thank her and she said, “Can I ask you something?”

“Sure.”

“Are you a writer?”

“Not really.”  My brow furrowed and I finally nodded with a shrug.  “I do write every night, but it’s just for fun.”

She smiled and I swear her eyes sparkled.  “You’re going to be a famous writer one day.”

I walked back to the hotel in a daze.  I couldn’t process how I would ever write a book or get published, but she’d planted the seed that night.  For the rest of our stay in New Orleans, I kept thinking about what I would write.

At the time I loved reading vampire books, but I was tiring of the typical European trope.  I’d read before that you should write what you know, so I thought about San Diego.  The oldest building in San Diego is the Mission De Alcala, founded by priests from Spain in the 1700’s.                           (More pics from the Night Walker world on my blog…  http://lisakessler.wordpress.com/night-walker-series/night-walker-book-one-of-the-night-series/ )

The more I thought about it, the idea grew to include the Mayans, and by the time we were in the New Orleans airport to fly home, I had written the original plotline for Night Walker on cocktail napkins.  (I didn’t own a laptop back then! LOL)

I wrote the first version of the book in about five months.

Here’s where you can find Lisa and learn more about her and her fabulous books…

http://lisaslair.com/

http://lisakessler.wordpress.com
http://twitter.com/LdyDisney
http://facebook.com/LisaKesslerWriter

Lisa is giving away a signed paperback of Night Walker, a signed Night Walker poster and a $25 Amazon giftcard.  Just go to rafflecopter and register.  Here’s the code…

<a id=”rc-ba112f34″ href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a> <script src=”//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js”></script>

GOOD LUCK!

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday Welcomes Lisa Kessler”
  1. David Pereda says:

    Congratulations to Lisa on her new book. Nice and humorous blog, Susan! I always get a kick at the sinuous way you handle words. Good luck to both of you in your writing endeavors.

    • Susan Blexrud says:

      David, always good to hear from you, and best of luck on However Long the Night. Your reviews have been stellar!

  2. Lisa Kessler says:

    Thanks for having me on your blog today!!! 🙂 It was a fun interview!!!

    And thanks for the good wishes David!

    Lisa 🙂

    • Susan Blexrud says:

      I try to make each interview unique, Lisa, and your interesting background made the questions EASY. Thanks so much for gracing Embrace the Shadows!

Leave a Reply

  • What’s Going On

    May 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.

