Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Kristen Painter

All Fired Up

 

 

 

Please welcome Kristen Painter, Samhain author of All Fired Up, and co-founder of the popular website, Romance Divas.  

ETS – Please tell us a little about yourself.  

I’m cranky when I’m hungry. My husband can back this up. Also? I like to shop. Clothes, shoes, handbags, accessories…adore all of them. Oh wait. Did you mean writing type stuff? ‘Kay, lemme see.  All Fired Up just released from Samhain, and in 2011 my urban fantasy vampire series launches from Orbit with the first three books out back to back.

Also, my three cats insisted I give them a shout out, so hi to Sam, Scooter and Max. Now maybe they’ll stop trying to use my Twitter account. 

ETS – Can you tell us a little about All Fired Up?  

It’s loosely based on the legend of the Phoenix bird and the premise of “what if” you could change past events in your life? I think everyone wonders about that sometimes. 

ETS – What inspired you to write this story?  How did the idea come to you? 

The idea came from a drawing an artist had posted on Deviant Art. You can see that picture on my website here: http://www.kristenpainter.com/readers.html 

ETS – What’s your writing process like?  Are you a pantser or plotter? 

Yes.  I’ve kind of been forced into plotting a little due to the fact that my urban fantasy series went out as a 3 book proposal with only one book written. I’ve had to do that before and I don’t mind saying it’s hard. Not to mention, the stories that follow don’t also adhere to the synopsis as written. 

By nature, I’m more of a pantser. (I actually like to say I’m an organic writer.) I love the twists and turns that crop up in the story as I’m writing. Really and truly, those surprises are what keep me writing – my desire to see where the story is going pushes me forward. 

ETS – You can only have one for the rest of your life – Chinese food or Italian food.  Which would you pick? 

As I am Italian on both sides of my family, I am honor bound to pick Italian. But I probably would anyway. Spaghetti and meatballs is quite possibly my all time favorite meal. Actually, pasta of any kind makes me extraordinarily happy. Did I mention linguini with white clam sauce? Oh my. Yes. That too. Wow. Now I’m starving. 

ETS – You’re co-founder of the Romance Divas, a wonderful online forum that features Authors of the Month, and includes articles, tips and resources for writers.   How did that site come about? 

Jax, my co-founder in that site and one of the best writing buddies anyone could ask for, and I met online at another writer’s forum. We got into trouble for having too much fun, so, long story short, we built our own forum where we could have as much fun as we wanted. Apparently, others felt the same way ‘cause that place is rockin’! 

ETS – I couldn’t agree more.  🙂  As writers we often hear that we should ‘get our name out there.’  What advice would you give to aspiring writers who are new to networking? 

Be kind. Be gracious. Be appreciative. People’s time is so valuable these days. If someone helps you, help them back. You might think an unpublished writer has nothing to offer a multi-pubbed author, but that’s just not true. Buy their books and then leave them some reviews on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, that kind of thing. If they have a signing in your area, show up and buy a book! Better yet, bring a friend and make them buy a book too! 

Beneficial relationships don’t happen overnight, they’re cultivated. Remember that. 

ETS – Describe your idea of the perfect date.  

One of our favorite things to do is spend the day at Universal Studios. Because we live so close, we’re season pass holders and I have to tell you, there’s something so fun about spending a day like that with my husband. Even in a park full of thousands of people, we get to be together in a way that’s intimate. We’re both big kids at heart and we connect on that level so well. Despite the fact that I beat the pants off him at Men In Black. Seriously. Every. Time. SCORE! 

ETS – Is All Fired up going to be part of a series?  Can you tell us what you’re working on now? 

Originally, yes, it was. Now that’s kind of up to whether or not Samhain wants another one and what my writing schedule will allow. I’m hard at work on the second book in my urban fantasy series, Flesh And Blood. Following that, I’m going right into the third book in the series, Bad Blood. After those two are done, I have a YA proposal I’m desperate to write. Really, I just need more hours in the day. 

ETS – What final piece of advice would you give to aspiring writers? 

Write. Forget everything else, like what your pen name is going to be and which agent is right for you and if you should be on Myspace or Facebook. Nothing matters but the writing and finishing the book. You can figure everything else out after the book is written, polished and ready to be submitted. Until then, everything else is just fluff. You can take that to the bank. 

ETS – Thanks so much for taking the time to chat with us. 🙂 

Thanks for having me! I’ve enjoyed it. 

ETS – You can visit Kristen’s website, and learn more about her books by going to her Author Page

KP headshot crop duotone

Kristen Painter is a former college English teacher, personal trainer, advertising exec, maitre d’, and runway model. When not building fantastical worlds, creating new characters or plotting herself out of a corner, she hangs out in the forum at Romancedivas.com, the award-winning site she co-founded with Jax Cassidy, blogs at www.kristenpainter.blogspot.com (except for Tuesday’s when she’s on deck at www.fictionistas.blogspot.com) or tweets at http://twitter.com/Kristen_Painter. She’s represented by The Knight Agency.

Twitter | Blog | Yahoo Group | Romance Divas

 

 

Kristen will be giving away her book, All Fired up, to one lucky commenter today.  Don’t by shy!  Winner will be announced tomorrow.   

Comments
25 Responses to “Fangtastic Friday – Interview with Kristen Painter”
  1. RKCharron says:

    Hi 🙂
    Thank you for an excellent interview Kristen!
    I am looking forward to reading ALL FIRED UP.
    🙂
    All the best,
    @RKCharron
    xoxo

  2. Suzanne Rock says:

    Hi Kristen! Welcome! I have to admit, I get cranky when I don’t eat, too. LOL. Your books sounds great. I had no idea you had so many writing projects inthe works. CAONGRATS! That’s a huge accomplishment. I would have to agree with your advice to aspiring writers. Just write. If you never write the book, you can’t submit, you can’t make the sale. I’ve totally been slacking with writing the past few days, so I needed to hear that! Thanks! 🙂

  3. RK – I can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

    Suzanne – Even I need to be reminded of that advice!

  4. Dawn McClure says:

    Thanks again for the interview, Kristen! 🙂 Can’t wait to read All Fired Up.

    I have to close out emails and blogs before I can get any writing done. I tend to play on the internet WAY too much. Great advice. Just Write. I need to get that tattoo’d somewhere where I can see it often. lol

  5. Thanks for having me, Dawn!

  6. Bella says:

    Kristen, your advice is awesome, and I’m not even a writer! 😉
    Congrats on the three book deal!

    Can’t wait to read All Fired Up!

    ~bella

  7. That’s so sweet, Bella. Thank you!

  8. Sherry says:

    Congrats on the release of All Fired Up. This one has been on my wishlist since release day. It sounds so good. Unfortunately my wish list holds more then my wallet does. LOL! I’m with you on italian food! Love any kind of pasta! 🙂

  9. Sherry – what is it about pasta that just hits that comfort food mark so well? Yum!

  10. Eva S says:

    Congrats on the release! This sexy Viking sounds like something for me!!
    And I’m adding your coming urban fantasy to my wish list, thanks!

  11. Eva S – Sexy Vikings should be for everyone, don’t you think? lol

  12. Kristen–I am so glad you said what you said about writing. It’s so easy to get caught up in the “fluff”. That was advice I really needed to read today! Sometimes I think I need to have “focus” tatooed on the backs of my fingers:/

    LOL about Men in Black and Universal Studios. Knowing you have a season pass makes me admire you for getting your writing done that much more!

  13. Barbara – A quick trip to Universal can be very tempting, but the writing comes first. Mostly. Hah!

  14. Cybercliper says:

    All Fired UP sounds wonderful!!! Who can resist a sexy viking? And I’ve always been facinated by the Phoenix. The Thunderbird is another myth that has a lot of appeal for me. Definitely looking forward to your urban fantasy vampire. Congrats on your book deal and look forward to reading your work.

  15. Bonnie H says:

    What a wonderful interview – thank you so much for sharing. I really needed to hear what you said. Your cover is droolworthy and the story sounds awesome – I’m totally stoked you shared about what your inspiration was, I love to hear those kinds of tidbits.
    When I was like 12 I saw Olivia Newton-John in concert at Universal Studios, and John Travolta came out on stage and sang that song from Grease with her – I was in adolescent heaven!! LOL So I always think of the place with a great deal of fondness 😀

  16. Cybercliper – I love reinventing traditional myths and stories. I think there’s a wealth of storytelling waiting to happen there.

    Bonnie – Now that sounds like a fun time at Universal!

  17. Beverly G says:

    Thank you for stopping by whata fun interview I have to say im a italian eater so i deff related to the spegetti and meatballs lol and shoes i love shoes I cant wait to read your book sounds great !

  18. Beverly – Spaghetti and meatballs is the best!

  19. J. Hunter says:

    Hey Kristen,

    Loved the interview. Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule. The cover looks great and it’s on my TBR list. I’m the owner of The Blackraven’s Erotic Cafe, so my followers and people who visited my site saw your book in the Top 10 on MBaM!. It’ll also be in the slide show at the bottom of the page.

    Good luck with your upcoming releases.

    http://theblackraveneroticcafe.blogspot.com/

  20. J. Hunter – Awesome! Thanks for the heads up!

  21. Deidre says:

    Sounds like great advice Kristen! I hope to be using it soon.

    Deidre

  22. Deidre – Thanks for stopping by!

  23. Karin says:

    Great interview. I love your answer to the food question. I would have picked Italian as well. Noodles are one of my favorite things to eat.

  24. Karin – I think Italian is the choice for a lot of folks. It’s just so yummy!

  25. gloria says:

    I have always liked the legend of the phoenix and wouldn’t we all in our secret hearts like to be able to change things in the past but question is if we got our wish how might it affect our life in the end. Would it change only our future or would it affect others.

    If you could meet anyone real or fictional who would it be and why?

    please enter me in your contest and thanks for having it.

Leave a comment

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Promotional Opportunities

    If you'd like to schedule an interview contact Susan Blexrud.